16 Digits Away to Make a $200 Go Away!

     If you have the power to move the timeline backwards and correct the mistakes you have done, would you dare and take the risk to change it? Would you want to eliminate it, as if it never happened in the history of your lifetime? One of the hypothetical questions that I always throw to myself whenever a random thought haunt me.

I guess each one of us, in the course of our lifetime, there is one thing that we regret the most. It made us cry buckets and made us remorsefully swear not to do it again.


Here is mine:

Exactly the same month now, seven years ago, I made (by far) the biggest mistake of my life.

Everything is just a WOW when we first had our internet connection at home. That feeling you get when you realized that you could use the internet without staying in a public internet café. No noise all around, no one is standing at your back watching every click you made, and no time restriction.

I admit I had the “because-it-is-new” syndrome. I stayed up late at night discovering various stuffs in the internet. I changed my friendster theme every once and a while depending on my mood. I watched different movies that I am dying to view before in the movie house. I got to download the songs, videos and pictures of High School Musical, unlimitedly. Everyone who knows me very well can attest how truly, deeply, madly and insanely in love I am to High School Musical. When it comes to Zac Efron (Troy) and Vanessa Hudgens (Gabriela) tandem, my nerves are going up to the pinnacle of my excitement.

Photo by Glogster

One time, while I was browsing the internet, I came across a website saying “SIGN UP AND MEET YOUR HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL CAST WITH UNLIMITED FREEBIES.” Out of curiosity and excitement of a 12-year-old fangirl, I clicked everything just to know what it is all about. Until I reached a point, wherein I have to put all my personal details. Without a slightest form of hesitation, I put everything that is required to do. But… I stopped at the last part.

The last part is requiring me to put my credit card account number. I realized that I don’t have that card-card thingy. There you go, my excitement went down the slope.

Suddenly, I remember that my mom has a MasterCard from Metrobank. Without knowing where my decision will take me, I went inside my mom’s room and pretended that I am looking for my notebook inside her cabinet. It was a perfect timing also, my mom went outside our house because someone called her from the neighborhood. I quickly made my search operation and copied the 16 digits account number of my mom.

I went out of her room and sit down again in front of the computer. Alas! I made it. As I completed the sign up process, I saw only a “CONGRATULATIONS!” message. Nothing special happened. I thought Zac Efron will meet me live in my screen or Vanessa’s video will flash to say that I am one of the many who will visit Albuquerque, New Mexico for free. Just like that. Just a “Congratulations!” message?

So days have passed, it seems like nothing happened.

A month after, I saw my mom startling after opening an envelope with a bill from the bank inside. There she saw a charge of $200 USD from Columbia Bank!!!

Photo by Expand My Wealth

To make the long story short, I admitted to my mom that I used her credit card number to make my dream a reality– that I thought was true but only to find out that it was an internet credit card scam! It took only 16 digits away for a $200 USD to go away. She was very angry knowing that I am the reason for that very big charge in her account.

The anger of my mom passed but the lesson that I learned with that experience will always linger in my memory: READ AND THINK BEFORE YOU CLICK!

Leave a Reply

